The PMML is pleased to offer this program and hundreds more.

Watch this program for free.
Thank you for being a member.

Record date:

ON WAR Military History Symposium 2015

Pritzker Literature Award winners David Hackett Fischer, Rick Atkinson, Gerhard Weinberg, Allan Millett, and Antony Beevor are featured in this special episode of Pritzker Military Presents, with highlights of their discussions on the American Revolution, the liberation of Europe in 1945, the history and heritage of the U.S. Marine Corps, and the Battle of the Bulge. Sponsored by Northern Trust.

A collection of excerpts from the four separate programs that made up the Museum & Library's third annual ON WAR Military History Symposium, this compilation also includes appearances by University of Toronto Professor Rebecca Wittmann and former Marine Captain Eric Kirsch. 

Learn more about these programs or watch each of them in their entirety at the links below:

DAVID HACKETT FISCHER, PhD, is University Professor and Earl Warren Professor of History at Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachusetts, where he has served on the faculty for more than 50 years. Winner of the 2015 Pritzker Literature Award, Fischer is best known for his writings on the American Revolution, including the Pulitzer Prize-winning Washington's Crossing. Learn more.

RICK ATKINSON is a three time winner of the Pulitzer Prize, and is the bestselling author of six works of narrative military history, including The Guns at Last LightThe Day of BattleAn Army at DawnThe Long Gray LineIn the Company of Soldiers, andCrusade. He was a reporter, foreign correspondent, war correspondent, and senior editor at The Washington Post for more than twenty years. Learn more.

COLONEL ALLAN R. MILLETT, USMC (RETIRED), PhD, is Ambrose Professor of History and Director of the Eisenhower Center for American Studies at the University of New Orleans, and is Raymond E. Mason Jr. Professor Emeritus of History at The Ohio State University. An acclaimed military historian, award-winning author, and internationally recognized authority on The Korean War, Millet has earned numerous awards for his writings and his teaching, including the 2008 Pritzker Literature Award. Learn more.

ERIC KIRSCH is a former Captain in the United States Marine Corps who served multiple combat deployments in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom. Commissioned as a 2nd Lieutenant after graduating with honors from The Citadel in 2004, Kirsch served in Iraq as Human Intelligence Exploitation Team (HET) Officer in Charge before being selected for further training at the Defense Intelligence Agency (DIA) Joint Counterintelligence Training Academy (JCITA), earning the title of Special Agent with the Naval Criminal Investigative Service (NCIS) in 2009. Learn more.

GERHARD L. WEINBERG, PhD, is Professor Emeritus of History at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, where he has served on the faculty since 1974. A German expatriate and veteran of the U.S. Army during the post-WWII occupation of Japan, Dr. Weinberg is an internationally recognized authority on the origins and course of World War II, earning the 2009 Pritzker Literature Award for his writings on the subject. Learn more.

REBECCA WITTMANN, PhD, is Associate Professor of History at the University of Toronto, where her research focuses on the Holocaust and postwar Germany, trials of Nazi perpetrators and terrorists, and German legal history. Dr. Wittmann is the author of Beyond Justice: The Auschwitz Trial, winner of the Fraenkel Prize in Contemporary History. Learn more.

ANTONY BEEVOR is a renowned British historian and bestselling author best known for his writings on World War II, which have been published in more than 30 languages and have sold more than six million copies worldwide. He is the author of Crete – The Battle and the Resistance, (Runciman Prize); Stalingrad (Samuel Johnson Prize, Wolfson Prize for History and  Hawthornden Prize for Literature); D-Day: The Battle for Normandy, (Prix Henry Malherbe and the Royal United Services Institute Westminster Medal); and The Second World War. Learn more.

Sponsored By