Pa-Ha-Sa-Pah, of the Black Hills of South Dakota

Rosen, Peter 1895

The Dakota Territory was formed March 2, 1861 and included land acquired in the Louisiana Purchase. Named after the Dakota branch of the Sioux tribes, most of the land in the territory had previously been part of the Minnesota and Nebraska territories. When North and South Dakota were admitted to the Union in 1889, the territory ceased to exist as a governmental unit.

Cover of "Pa-Ha-Sa-Pah, of the Black Hills of South Dakota"